NBA Awards Hold No Surprises As Favorites Win Every Award

After one of the most unique NBA seasons in recent history and before one of the most transformative free agency periods in that same history starts next week, the NBA held it’s award ceremony in Santa Monica. There were no surprises when it came to the award winners this year. Giannis Antetokounmpo beat out James Harden to claim league MVP and relay a tearful speech thanking his family.

Rudy Gobert won his second consecutive Defensive player of the year award, Pascal Siakam beat out D’Angelo Ruseel to take the Most Improved player award and Mike Budenholzer was awarded Coach of the year after leading the Milwaukee Buck to the best record in the league this past season. Finally Luka Doncic won the Rookie of the year and Lou Williams took home his third total and second consecutive Sixth Man of the year. Of course, all of this is just a precursor to what is sure to be an unparalleled free agency period next week. 


Image Credits: Richard Shotwell/Invision/AP;;